The Farm

From Eileen Effrat

Author:  Tom Rob Smith

Title:  The Farm

The Farm is a psychological thriller that centers around a 29 year old torn between his two parents.  Which one do you believe?  His father claims his mother has had a mental breakdown,  while his mother insists she has unearthed a conspiracy of murder involving his father. The reader witnesses this drama unfold through Daniel’s eyes as family secrets and deceptions are laid to bare.  Ultimately, the plot boils down to how well do we really know are parents. This is a quick read  with a very unexpected twist.

The devil’s cave : a Bruno, chief of police novel

From  Eileen Effat

Author:  Martin Walker

Title:  The devil’s cave : a Bruno, chief of police novel

This is the fifth in a series featuring Bruno Courreges, the Chief of Police in a small French village in the Dordogne.  A naked dead woman is found floating down the River Vezere in a small boat with a large black candle and a decapitated cockerel.   Evidence of a Black Mass ritual?  As the investigation proceeds, the shady dealings of a local real estate firm indicate strong ties to the murder.  For a genuine flavor of the Dordogne—-cooking, agriculture, people, wine, lifestyle, economy, and history—- this is an enjoyable cozy mystery series.

The corpse reader

From Andrea Kalinowski
Author:  Antonio Garrido
Title:  The corpse reader
Just imagine, if you will, being gathered in a crowd of peasants, sickle in hand, waiting impatiently for the official to pronounce sentence. The official scans the crowd, looking for his witness, and finally spots him. The witness is indicating “Yes, this is the sickle that slew the peasant.” The official beckons forth the peasant holding the sickle and pointing to the witness, a fly, on his blade, pronounces sentence. When the peasant inquires as to how the official knew, the official points to the fly and his brethren. The fly would not sit on your blade without something to attract it and so even though you cleaned the blade, the fly knew there had been blood on the blade. Now imagine you are in China and this is really happening to you. The Corpse Reader by Antonio Garrido is a novel based on an actual Chinese personage, Ci Song.  Ci Song was the father of Chinese Forensic Sciences and the official who used a fly as a witness. The beginning of the novel was a little slow but soon enough it caught me in its web. From that moment on, I could not put the book aside. Ci Song experiences many moments of pain but is always moving forward. He exemplifies strength in the face of adversity and always attempts to honor his family ties.

The Inquisitor’s Key

From Andrea  Kalinowski
Author:  Jefferson Bass
The Inquisitor’s Key
Inquisitor’s Key  is  a must-read for fans of Dan Brown and Kathleen McGowan. Avignon, France is the locale for this religious conundrum. The novel centers itself around a stone ossuary in which bones are contained. The legend inscribed upon the ossuary leads the anthropological team to believe that the bones might be the bones of the King of Kings, Jesus Christ. Dr. Bill Brockton and his protégée, Miranda Lovelady, follow a convoluted trail in their attempts to prove or disprove the legend written on the ossuary. Not everyone on the team is playing it straight, however, which leads to some dangerous consequences.

The President’s Vampire

From Rosemarie Jerome
author: Farnsworth, Christopher
 The President’s Vampire
In this sequel to Blood Oath, vampire Nathaniel Cade and his human handler, Zach Barrows, must save mankind from creatures who not only kill but spread their contagion that changes humans into snakeheads.  Suspend your disbelief for a wild non-stop action thriller adventure, the interaction between Cade and his sidekick Zach are worth the trip.

Death Cloud

From Andrea Kalinowski
author: Lane, Andrew
Death Cloud
Sherlock Holmes is one of the best known fictional characters. In fact, he is so believable a character, he is still asked to consult on cases. Laurie R. King has set a series of novels around Sherlock in which his misogynistic ways seem to have fallen somewhat by the wayside because he has gotten married, but I digress. Andrew Lane, in a novel entitled Death Cloud, takes us back to the pre-fame days of Sherlock Holmes and introduces us to him as a boy on the cusp of manhood. His summer vacation has effectively been cancelled by his father’s redeployment to India to quell an uprising. Mycroft has been dispatched to share this news with Sherlock and to drop him at his aunt and uncle’s house for the summer. Mycroft has already started his position with Her Majesty’s government and so cannot watch over his brother. We watch as Sherlock is introduced to many of the habits which will be a mainstay in his later career. Sherlock uncovers a sinister plot involving the use of bees to undermine the British government. A good read and only the beginning. The series continues with Rebel Fire.

The Information Officer

From Eileen Effrat
author: Mills, Mark
The Information Officer
It is the summer of 1942 and the island of Malta is under intense German
bombardment. For the Germans, the island is vital as a strategic and
military supply port. As the British and Maltese courageously defend
the island, a British officer might be killing local dance hostesses.
Major Max Chadwick, the information officer in charge of controlling the
island’s news, secretly begins to investigate the murders. As the
investigation proceeds, Chadwick faces a dilemma. Should he conceal the
news of these killings that have the potential of undermining Maltese
support in the Allied war effort or let this sadistic serial killer
continue? This is a thoroughly researched account of Malta under siege
and a suspenseful spy thriller.