The Demon in Me

From Andrea Kalinowski
author: Rowen, Michelle
The Demon in Me
Michelle Rowen has started a new series featuring Eden Riley and Darrak, a demon. Darrak was cursed by a witch and now must possess human bodies to maintain a presence. The series begins with The Demon in me followed by Something wicked. Eden Riley is a low-level psychic and is trying to assist the police in a serial murderer apprehension. When the apprehension goes wrong, the demon’s host body is killed, and Darrak, manifesting as smoke, invades Eden. They must learn how to share the body while attempting to break the curse of possession. Darrak, after living all these years among humans, has acquired some nasty habits, nasty habits to a demon whose main aim is evil. He cares about Eden. The books are suspenseful and intriguing in their description of the creation of Heaven and Hell and who has dominion where and why. A fast-paced read for anyone whose mind can stretch to believe in things seen and unseen. The next book is advertised as That old black magic with no street date as yet.


From Teen Book Reviewer
author: Volponi, Paul
Paul Volponi, author of Black and White, indulges the reader in this historical fiction novel entitled Rooftop.  This story is about two cousins who live a life of crime and drugs in the projects of New York City.  After many years of separation due to family conflict, the two are reunited in a rehabilitation program.  They learn how to control their lives and how to stay away from the temptation of drugs.  But that does not stop Clay’s cousin Addison from getting killed by three police officers.  This leaves Clay in a tight spot.  He can tell the truth and let the murder be unavenged or he can fall under the pressure of those around him and tell the jury a lie that would put one man behind bars for a very long time.  This story uses slang, but it is pretty easy to follow.  It was intense and gave the reader a good sense of what happened that night on top of the Ravenswood Houses.

Changes : a novel of the Dresden files

From Rosemarie Jerome
author: Butcher, Jim
Changes : a novel of the Dresden files
Being the 12th book in the Dresden Files series, we have seen Harry fight demons, vampires, ogres, rogue wizards, werewolves and other nefarious creatures to help others and save the world but now he must face his past.  In his latest case he must save the daughter, he never knew he had, from an old enemy.  Harry, the wisecracking wizard investigator, becomes a darker character filled with somber desperation facing a no win situation.  The Dresden Files (from first to last):  Storm Front, Fool Moon, Grave Peril, Summer Knight, Death Masks, Blood Rites, Dead Beat, Proven Guilty, White Night, Small Favor, Turn Coat and Changes.