Outrage : An Icelandic Thriller

From  Eileen  Effrat
Author:  Arnaldur  Indridason
Outrage : An Icelandic Thriller
Icelandic crime writer Indridason is my favorite Nordic crime writer. This is the seventh in his police procedural series translated into English featuring Detective Erlendur of the Reykjavik police. In this sequel,  his subordinate,  Elinborg, takes center stage in unraveling the murder of a serial rapist who drugs his victims with Rophypnol. Elinborg is a very competent and clever female detective attempting to find a balance between family obligations and her professional career. As she and the team investigate, it leads them to a rural Icelandic village with some very nasty secrets. This sequel is much more touchy feely with Elinborg in the lead. While I enjoyed the mystery, I do prefer the grumpy, old fashioned and impenetrable Erlendur.

Knit, Purl, Die

From Francine Schwarz 
Title:  Knit, Purl, Die
Author:  Anne Canadeo
This is the second book in the Black Sheep Knitting Mystery series.  I choose it because the knitting club caught my eye.  A knitting club that solves mysteries is combines the two things I enjoy most.  I liked the way Canadeo has developed the main characters and will look forward to reading the other books in the series.

Dear Cary

From  Elaine Pasquali 
Title:  Dear Cary
Author:  Dyan Cannon
Dyan Cannon recounts her meeting, courtship and life with Cary Grant. She describes a caring, sensitive man who had his own demons to battle.  At the age of 10, he was told his mother had died.  Twenty years later, his father, who had abandoned him, tells Cary his mother is alive and in a public mental institution.  This knowledge had a lasting effect on him.  It\’s a delightful book, full of surprises about the humanness of one of Hollywoo\’s sexiest leading men.  Photos add to the book’s enjoyment.  Dyan Cannon has a very smooth writing style.

Summer of the Midnight Sun

From Ginny Pisciotta
Author:  Tracie Peterson
Summer of the Midnight Sun 
 The setting for this historical novel is the Alaskan wilderness in 1915. Leah and her brother Jacob have grown to love this harsh land and its people. When Jayce, the man who broke her heart 10 years earlier, returns, Leah must deal with strong but conflicting emotions. Their lives are all further complicated by adventure, mystery and danger in a variety of forms. The themes of forgiveness, mercy, and justice are recurring. If you enjoy this book, be prepared to read the sequels – Under the Northern Lights, and Whispers of Winter.Otherwise, you’ll be left hanging with unresolved issues.